Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  870 / 904 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 870 / 904 Next Page
Page Background




One of the four

marks or notes of the Church,

taken from the Nicene Creed. The

Church is catholic or universal

both because she possesses the

fullness of Christ’s presence

and the means of salvation, and

because she has been sent out by

Christ on a mission to the whole

of the human race (750, 830).



Church established by Christ on

the foundation of the Apostles,

possessing the fullness of the

means of salvation which

he has willed: correct and

complete confession of faith, full

sacramental life, and ordained

ministry in apostolic succession



The state or condition

of those who have chosen to

remain unmarried for the sake of

the kingdom of heaven in order

to give themselves entirely to God

and to the service of his people.

In the Latin Church, celibacy

is obligatory for bishops and

priests. In some Eastern Churches,

celibacy is a prerequisite for the

ordination only of bishops; priests

may not marry after they have

been ordained (1579, 1580).


An indelible spiritual mark

which is the permanent effect

of the Sacraments of Baptism,

Confirmation, and Holy Orders,

by which a person is given a

new permanent configuration to

Christ and a specific standing in

the Church; the reception of these

sacraments is never repeated

(1272, 1304, 1582).


A specific gift or

grace of the Holy Spirit which

directly or indirectly benefits the

Church, given in order to help a

person live out the Christian life,

or to serve the common good in

building up the Church (799, 951).


The theological virtue

by which we love God above all

things for his own sake, and our

neighbor as ourselves for the love

of God (1822).


The moral virtue

which, under the cardinal virtue

of temperance, provides for the

successful integration of sexuality

within the person leading to the

inner unity of the bodily and

spiritual being (2337). Chastity is

called one of the fruits of the Holy

Spirit (1832).


A group of persons

trained to lead in the singing at

liturgical celebrations (1143).


Perfumed oil,

consecrated by the bishop, which

signifies the gift of the Holy Spirit.

Chrism is used for consecration

in the Sacraments of Baptism,

Confirmation, and Holy Orders

(1241, 1289, 1291, 1294).


The name used

in the Eastern Churches for the

Sacrament of Confirmation, from

the “chrism” or “myron” used in

the anointing (1289).


From the Greek

translation of the Hebrew


which means “anointed.” It

became the name proper to Jesus

because he accomplished perfectly

the divine mission of priest,

prophet, and King, signified by

his anointing as Messiah, “Christ”



Jesus Christ; Messiah;