Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  891 / 904 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 891 / 904 Next Page
Page Background





The supreme

jurisdiction and ministry of the

pope as shepherd of the whole

Church. As successor of St. Peter,

and therefore Bishop of Rome and

Vicar of Christ, the pope is the

perpetual and visible principle of

unity in faith and communion in

the Church (882).




A characteristic

feature of the teaching of Jesus.

Parables are simple images or

comparisons which confront the

hearer or reader with a radical

choice about his invitation to enter

the Kingdom of God (546).


A name for the

Holy Spirit. The term was used

by Jesus in the New Testament



14:16) to indicate the

promised gift of the Spirit as

another consoler and advocate,

who would continue his own

mission among the disciples (692).


The symbolic

description of the condition of our

first parents before the Fall, who

lived in a state of friendship with

God in the happiness of original

justice and holiness (374, 384).

Paradise also signifies heaven, the

state of those who live with Christ

forever in the friendship and

presence of God (1023, 1721).


A stable community of

the faithful within a particular

church or diocese, whose pastoral

care is confided by the bishop to a

priest as pastor (2179).


The glorious return

and appearance of our Lord and

Savior Jesus Christ as judge of the

living and the dead, at the end of

time; the second coming of Christ,

when history and all creation will

achieve their fulfillment (1001; cf.

668, 673).






saving death and its memorial

in the Eucharist, associated with

the Jewish feast of Passover

(or Pasch) commemorating the

deliverance of the Jewish people

from death by the blood of the

lamb sprinkled on the doorposts

in Egypt, which the angel of death

saw and “passed over.” Hence

Jesus is acknowledged in the New

Testament as the Lamb of God,

who takes away the sins of the

world; he is the Paschal Lamb, the

symbol of Israel’s redemption at

the first Passover. The Eucharist

celebrates the new Passover,

in which Jesus “passes over”

to his Father by his death and

Resurrection, thus anticipating the

final Passover of the Church in the

glory of the Kingdom (571, 608,

671, 1334-1340).



Christ’s work

of redemption accomplished

principally by his Passion, death,

Resurrection, and glorious

Ascension, whereby “dying he

destroyed our death, rising he

restored our life” (1067; cf. 654).

The Paschal Mystery is celebrated

and made present in the liturgy

of the Church, and its saving

effects are communicated through

the sacraments (1076), especially

the Eucharist, which renews the

paschal sacrifice of Christ as the

sacrifice offered by the Church

(571, 1362-1372).


The suffering and

death of Jesus (572, 602-616).

Passion or Palm Sunday begins

Holy Week, during which the