Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  534 / 665 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 534 / 665 Next Page
Page Background

506 • Conclusion and Appendices



The name

for the solemn declaration by the

pope that a deceased member of

the faithful may be proposed as

a model and intercessor to the

Christian faithful and venerated

as a saint, on the basis of the fact

that the person lived a life of heroic

virtue or remained faithful to God

through martyrdom.


Those seven sins,

sometimes called “deadly,” that

can lead us into more serious sin.

The Capital Sins are lust, avarice

(greed), envy, pride, sloth, gluttony,

and anger.


The act of hand-

ing on the Word of God intended

to inform the faith community

and candidates for initiation into

the Church about the teachings of

Christ, transmitted by the Apostles

to the Church. It also involves the

lifelong effort of forming people

into witnesses to Christ and open-

ing their hearts to the spiritual

transformation given by the

Holy Spirit.


The name given

to a written work that contains

a summary of all the beliefs of

the faith and is used for

catechetical instruction.


An unbaptized

candidate for the Sacraments

of Initiation.


An extended

period of preparation for the

Sacraments of Initiation incorporat-

ing ritual, prayer, instruction, and

spiritual and moral support by the

parish community.



Theological Virtue by which we

give love to God for his own

sake and love to our neighbor on

account of God.


Connected to purity

of heart, this is a virtue that moves

us to love others with generous

regards for them. It excludes lust

and any wish to exploit them sexu-

ally. It helps us see and put into

practice God’s plan for the body,

person, and sexuality. All people are

called to pursue and live the virtue

of chastity according to one’s state

in life.


Perfumed oil consecrated

by a bishop at the annual Mass of

the Chrism during Holy Week; it

is used in those Sacraments which

confer a permanent mark or charac-

ter—Baptism, Confirmation, and

Holy Orders.